Jan. 11 – Teenage idol

Daily Prompt 11/365: Who did you idolise as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?

When we were young, my best friend Lucy and I would create dance routines for our favourite songs. We’d spend all day practising, then perform for our mums at the end of the playdate. We were a mini Destiny’s Child, channeling Beyoncé and Kelly (sorry Michelle) as we spun and jumped around the living room. Our poor mothers sat through endless renditions of ‘Survivor,’ applauding and cheering every week without fail.

Singing and dancing to Destiny’s Child taught us more than how to sing and dance. We were part of the (fourth?) wave of feminists that grew up with a brand of female empowerment that spoke to us. ‘Independent Women’ became our anthem:

Try to control me boy you get dismissed
Pay my own fun, oh and I pay my own bills
Always 50/50 in relationships.

The shoes on my feet
I’ve bought it
The clothes I’m wearing
I’ve bought it
The rock I’m rockin’
‘Cause I depend on me

As we grew older, we may have briefly forgotten some of these lessons – perhaps the DC girls should’ve written a self-help book for teenage girls – but then as women we were brought back into the fold with Beyoncé’s epic album drop at the end of 2013. And even though her feminism is sometimes problematic, Beyoncé continues to offer us important lessons for success in business, relationships and motherhood.

Thanks, B.

Leave a Reply

