Jan. 9 – Worst case scenario

Daily Prompt 9/365: Of all the awful possibilities, what’s the worst possible thing that could happen to you today? Now, what about the best?

Babysitting: if teenagers can handle it, I’m sure I’ll be fine.

The girls have gone to bed quietly and happily, reading and singing lullabies – how sweet!

Okay kids, time to brush your tee- STOP SPLASHING HER!
All right, let’s find some dry pajamas for you. YOU – get into bed!

I think I’ll spend the evening watching a movie, enjoying some snacks, relaxing until the parents get home.

Okay, you can read for a little while or go straight to sleep. Lights off in ten minutes. HEY – get back into bed!

What a lovely house this is, so warm and cosy. And quiet! What a perfect Saturday night.

Giiiiirls! Why can I hear footsteps? 

……No, you don’t need water, you’ve both got full cups next to your beds. Settle down now, time to turn the lights off.

This family has some great books on the shelf, maybe I’ll just settle in with a book and a cup of tea. It’s so quiet. Maybe too quiet? I’ll go check on the girls.

WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO YOUR SISTER’S HAIR?! 

Oh, look at them! Fast asleep together in the little one’s bed. I won’t disturb them. I’ll creep back downstairs and get back to my book.

That is IT! You – go back to bed. YOU – help me clean this up! Don’t kick the hair about, brush it up into a pile and put it in the bin. Come on, help me!

Hmmm, I could get used to this. I don’t know what there is to complain about with childcare, this is a piece of cake.

 I am going to sit out here in the hallway between your rooms and you are going to stay INSIDE YOUR BEDS! Don’t even think about getting up or there is going to be trouble.

*yawn* It’s getting late, maybe I’ll put my book down and rest my eyes for a minute…..

*jolts awake* oh! You’re back! How was your night? Um, yes, they are asleep, they, uh…..they took a while to settle down but I, um, I stayed up here to make sure they were okay.

Oh, hi! Welcome back, how was it? Oh, yes, they were perfect angels. Didn’t hear a peep. Oh, I’m so glad you had a lovely time.

Well, I’ll be off now then – yes, ok, speak soon, bye!

Yes, happy to do this again, anytime – you have my number. Good, okay then, I’ll head home. Thanks again. Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

