Jan. 8 – Keeping up with the Joneses

Daily Prompt 8/365: Tell us about the one luxury item you wish you could afford, in as much detail as you can. Paint a picture for us.

My kitchen is the one room I’d love to fill with things of the highest quality. I shop at second-hand stores for lots of things – books, clothes, small housewares – but when I pass a kitchen store, my wallet groans in anticipation of being emptied over kitchenwares.

In my dream house, I live a small life in every way but one: the kitchen, the heart of my home, is big and full and draws in anyone who comes to visit. There’s a big breakfast bar with stools to perch on, a warm stove baking bread, pots and pans hanging from ceiling hooks and drawers full of linens and gadgets. The glasses in the cabinet are made from recycled Mexican glass, the crockery is handmade in Italy, the knives are worthy of top chefs.

The pantry is filled with the best food I can find – organic produce, small-bath oils and vinegars, homemade jars of chutney and relish. The fridge hums quietly in the corner, full of local cheeses, fresh juice and the season’s best offerings.

In my home, in this kitchen, family and friends gather round with glasses in hand, laughing as we watch our children grow up, crawling on the floor, chasing each other through the room, perching on stools rolling their eyes at us.

Yes; I dream of a kitchen where I can feel like our lives have been truly and fully lived.

Leave a Reply

