Jan. 5 – Unpopular

Daily Prompt 5/365: Tell us about a time when you had to choose between two options, and you picked the unpopular choice.

I haven’t seen or spoken to my biological father in more than 13 years. Half my lifetime. There are plenty of reasons why I chose this: I’ve never regretted this choice.

There are those who think my reasons aren’t good enough, I’m sure. I’ve heard people say that nothing short of being raped or beaten to a pulp is reason enough to disown a parent.

I’ve had people ask me how I’ll feel on my wedding day when my daddy isn’t there to walk me down the aisle or dance with me. I’ve been told I’ll want to know him someday, that it might be too late, shouldn’t I try to build a relationship with him before it’s too late?

Except it already is too late. It’s been too late since I was six years old.

Being my father wasn’t a right, it was a privilege, and it’s one he lost a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

